How to calculate IGCSE Core and IGCSE Extended scores?

26 November, 2021
How to calculate IGCSE Core and IGCSE Extended scores – IGCSE is an international certificate program in grades 9 and 10. Upon completion, students will take the exam organized by Cambridge University’s CAIE organization. But most parents do not know “how to calculate IGCSE Core and IGCSE Extended scores”?

Related posts:

To have an overview of “how to calculate IGCSE Core and IGCSE Extended scores”, you need to understand the program structure.

IGCSE program structure

IGCSE is an International Secondary School program that is studied for two years in grades 9 and 10. Upon completion, students will take IGCSE exam organized by Cambridge University’s CAIE organization. There are 103 subjects divided into 6 groups:

  • Creative and Professional
  • English Language and Literature
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Language
  • Mathematics
  • Sciences

Based on the difference in ability of each student, each subject in the IGCSE program is divided into 2 levels: Core and Extended. Each student can choose from 6 to 9 subjects depending on their abilities and interests, including 3 to 6 Extended subjects.

  • Core Curriculum: The program is mainly designed to teach the most basic knowledge to suit the level of most students.
  • Extended Curriculum: The program includes knowledge in the Core level and adds advanced knowledge, for a more academic level and close to higher levels such as IB, AP, A-level…

For more:Topics in IGCSE Chemistry

How to calculate IGCSE Core and IGCSE Extended scores?

IGCSE Core provides overview courses compared to Extended. Extended has specifically designed to help students meet extra topics or depth to improve their knowledge in Core.

IGCSE scale is calculated from A* to G, where A* is the highest score, G is the lowest score, in addition, there are scores that are considered unclassified. For each subject, students must get a grade of C or higher to apply to higher programs.

  • For Core, the scale will be C D E F G.
  • For Extended, the scale will be A* A B C D E.

Scores at both Core and Extended overlap at C, D, and E designed to accommodate students who perform better or worse than teachers expect. Students who do not meet the minimum satisfactory standards for the Core (grade G) or Extended (grade E), they are not graded (ungraded).

IGCSE scores are also based on the final exam, which means that students can completely study at home or take an IGCSE course at any center, then register for the exam at other educational institutions authorized by CAIE.

For more: Strategies for SAT exam preparation and high score taker

How to choose the subject that is right for you?
  • Choose the right subject from 6 subject groups: Creative and Professional, English Language and Literature, Humanities and Social Sciences, Language, Mathematics, Sciences.
●      Choose 6 to 9 subjects: Out of 103 subjects, you need to choose at least 5 subjects (including 3 main subjects Math – Science – English) to study in 2 years.
  • Choose Core or Extended: Students can choose 3 to 6 subjects that are Extended. You can choose Math, English, Literature and one subject in the Science groups.
  • Depends on your hobbies: If you like science or business, you should choose subjects related to Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Economics, Business Studies…

When possessing an IGCSE certificate, students will have an advantage when enrolling in a college or university at home or abroad, while adding in-depth knowledge and preparing for a solid foundation when they graduate in higher education. Therefore, you need to choose the right subjects to get favorable grades for higher education.

For more: Where to find Physics in English tutoring? – A place to share experiences of learning international programs such as IB, AP, A-level, IGCSE, GED… If you have any questions, please contact us directly by email or hotline for free advice.

No items text